Buggy weights, what ya'll got?

No way

Viking Mothfukle
Member Number
Loc
Under the bus
Post up yer numbers gents.

Mine:
40" sticky treps, shortened mogs, 4 linked, 200+ hp 4cyl GM/Saab 2.3l turbo transverse a/t. Weighing in at about 3300lbs
Screenshot_20231021_123239_Facebook.jpg

Screenshot_20231021_123318_Facebook.jpg

Last edited:
Seeing the weights/rigs you guys posted makes me feel better about the weight of my full body YJ I am only 140 pounds heavier that the first guy and lighter than Bebop and Chaplins buggies.

Toyota drivetrains must be pretty heavy :eek: I am surprised it weighs that much.

The weight on this one surprises me as well.
well i do still have the factory rear view mirror from 1983 in the cab so thats adds some.

so this is my first attempt at full buggy, and i had it in my mind that i had to keep a section of frame or this would not work, this section of frame is fucking over kill. i mean over kill, i bet i have 150 pounds of extra steel in the frame. that could have been redone . back in 2014 i had to splice rusty old with new and i over did it. so there is quite a bit of extra frame weight there. plus alot of tubes. double b pillar and a bunch of extras. 1/2 maybe 5/8 inch skid plate for tcases,

know what i know know i would do the construction alot differnt, but i cant argu with the results at all, it far exceeded all my expectations for sure.

now i am pulling the toyota drive train and going LS, so there is that. lol

1667304289367.png

1667304346126.png

Right at 6k, thats 350/sm465/205/205,60/14bolt, steel 3/8" wall links, driveshafts, a set of spare rear shafts, a set of spare front shafts, 4 seats, 2 rear storage cans with fluids and recovery gear, air tank, and full engine and belly skid. Also is a 2" cage. 40" nittos on beadlocks
DSC_0203.JPG

DSC_0054.JPG
DSC_0245.JPG

Old school doubler cases (203/205 or similar) seem stupid heavy