What's new

What's a fun but non-douche car to drive?

JayMcJay

Member Number
Loc
West Michigan
I'm a salesman who drives about 40k miles per year, so I prefer to be driving something I like. But I also stack 40k miles a year on a car, so I wear them out (or depreciate them) pretty quick.
Right now I'm driving a 2019 CCLB F350 4x4 powerstroke, which probably doesn't make the most sense, but I sure do like it. It's a little premature, but with all the miles I drive I have plenty of time to think about what the next ride is going to be.

A while back I was driving an old Porsche Boxster that I had un-totaled, and I loved it. I was at work one day and saw some slick guy with shiny loafers, creased bluejeans and sportcoat getting out of a 911 and thought 'look at that douche'. Turns out he was the new VP of sales, and he was indeed a douche. I loved driving that Boxster and even thought it was actually a low-buck ride I always kinda wondered if people thought I was a douche for driving it. I'd love to get another Porsche, but I still have that douche perception concern.

I have been looking into Tesla's a little. I'm not exactly the target customer since I usually roll in a big diesel truck, but the thought of low cost per mile is appealing, AWD is a thing, and they seem to have good acceleration numbers, etc. No idea how their batteries hold up in the cold, which is a factor here in Michigan.

I have thought about getting a Subaru WRX, since they seem pretty fun, AWD is standard, and fairly cheap overall.

So what does Irate think I should drive? I live in the frozen north so 4x4 or AWD is certainly a plus. I managed to make the numbers work for me on a new super duty, so anything that's reasonably within the $70k range could be an option.

I'm a salesman who drives about 40k miles per year, so I prefer to be driving something I like. But I also stack 40k miles a year on a car, so I wear them out (or depreciate them) pretty quick.