What's new

Two post lift installation in shop

reklund5

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
Northern Nevada
So I finally have a house with a shop, and finally got my 100A panel hooked up in the shop. Its time for a 2 post lift. Most I see that are under 12k capacity say that you can get away with a 4" slab...which is what I have. Anybody have experience installing a 2 post lift and can provide some feedback? I was thinking I'd have to cut a section out and put in some rebar and a 8-10" slab where the posts are. If I can just stand up the posts and put in some anchors in the existing concrete that'd be sweet...but I don't want to have it all tip over with a truck in the air.

I'm really familiar with using lifts as I was a professional tech for years at a Toyota Dealership. I know about properly loading and balancing a vehicle and all that. I just don't know concrete and how much force I can put on the existing slab.

Educate me. I've been waiting 20 years for a lift of my own in a shop of my own.

I've got a 10k Atlas 2 post in my shop. We poured the slab a little thicker ok that side where the posts are. Believe it was around 8" in that area. Also didn't saw cut that side. Regularly put my CCSB Duramax and a friend's CCLB dually Duramax on it without issues. I do use stands underneath with them once in the air though.

If you do cut out and pour deeper, make sure you tie it into the existing slab well.