What's new

Low horsepower and t case gearing

Wfoyota

Member Number
For those of you with low horsepower and automatics, what kind of case gearing did you end up liking? Plan is a turbo 22r/aw4 and 4.88 axle gears (axles were already this way) for reference. Original plan was a 5:1 atlas but the more I think about it, an eco box/300 seems appealing. Im an old toyota guy so I know the benefits of a doubler and also the benefits of an atlas for simplicity. Is 5:1 enough for the auto with 150 hp and 43s? Will 7:1 be too much without being able to kick the 300 in 4:1 to begin with cause of the stock 300 gearing? Im in the southeast so a lot of rev limiter banging and im not scared of a neutral drop either to get into boost faster but I am a more technical driver in the rocks. Thoughts and experiences?

I’d be worried anything over 5:1 having your brakes be able to hold it back. I had 5:1 and could barely hold 5.44:1 on a down hill.

I’d be worried anything over 5:1 having your brakes be able to hold it back. I had 5:1 and could barely hold 5.44:1 on a down hill.
Never thought of that but solid point.

22R with a turbo? 150hp? You're doing something very wrong.

im running a turbo'ed LE5 ecotec with a TH350(2600stall) and 5:1 atlas. 6.17/6.20 and 43's. Its not bad at all but i have a tiny K04 turbo so minimal lag and peak torque around 1600rpm. No complaints really. my bump it gear is second on steep stuff. I can run 3rd if i really need a lot of wheel speed. Sometimes I wish 1st was a little lower for super slow stuff.

i think 150hp with 4.88's and 43's would be pretty useless for east coast wheeling :eek:.

Are y'all saying 150HP is too much or not enough for a 22R with a turbo? Just curious. LOL:flipoff2:
Curious also. The old motor ran great with a 5 speed and 43s but its hard for me to imagine it's much over 150 hp. And if it is then thats great