What's new

Best leaf springs for my 91' SAS 4runner? (wheeling/camping/road use)

123danb

Member Number
As title states I am trying to decide what leafs to use when doing the SAS in my 91' 4runner w/ 3.4 swap.
Its my first time building a solid axle rig, so if I ask anything dumb please chalk it up as I am new to this crap lol.

I have the Sky's SAS kit with ultra clearance front hangar and high steer, I have been told need approx 4" of lift or so for high steer to clear.
I do plan on wheeling this thing, but am also looking for it to have "decent" road manners as I do intend to use it to go camping and get my ass to the ski hills in the winter.
Just wondering what front leafs people with experience would recommend as kind of an "all around" should I just go with Trail Gear 3"? What about the HD? Or do I just build it as a wheeler and try to drive it on the street lol.
Seen lots of folks says RUF flex well but I am concerned about road manners as well as have read some folks say they bend pretty easy.

Also, are Chevy 63's in the rear going to be okay for me? When I go camping there can be quite a bit of gear in the back (coolers + occasionally a 3500w generator, canopy etc) so am concerned about being really squatted when cargo is loaded if the Chevy 63's are too soft. Is there any other recommendations for the rear?
Or should I just be prepared to add-a-leaf to the 63's or something? If 63's are the go to, what length of shackles do you recommend?

Am I better off just building it to wheel/flex and going from there? If I do that and decide to change front springs, that could potentially mean that I need to relocate the front leaf shackles then correct?

Any / all information and advice is appreciated, thanks for reading.

Are deavers still available?
Next
Primary useage?
Pick your poison, d.d or crawler?
Rufs are fine if built correctly, I wasn't impressed with the t.g shit on my sased taco.
Realistically, a sorted crawler can d.d. ok
A rad crawler not so much.