What's new

1984 K20 Dana 60 swap and suspension

redneckK20s

Member Number
Loc
Farber, MO
Hey guys, total noob here and probably belongs in the noob forum but it's GM specific so I figured I'd start here. Story is I've had my '84 K20 for 12 years. It has a 10b front, 14b FF rear with 3.42 gears and factory garbage limited slip. It has a 454 with a 427 crank and too much cam for the cylinder heads, an SM465 and an NP208. 4 inch lift with cut fenders for fender flares and 38 inch Yokohama MTs. Right rear spring is completely wore out from axle wrap and me driving like a dick.

Bought an '85 K20 with a Dana 60/14b FF with 4.10 gears (maybe some kind of locker in the rear), 454/TH400/NP208 to swap the axles out and keep as a tow rig.

I want to keep the truck about the same height, the body went to shit so I plan on cutting the fenders up and maybe shortening the bed some day. I want the truck to flex well and ride as well as possible on leaf springs and I'm trying to keep a budget.

I've heard of swapping the rear 52" springs to the front (obviously removing leaves) and changing hangers. Also heard swapping to 63" rear springs from a newer model truck. Trying to do this on the cheap so I figured stock height 63" rears with some type of shackle flip kit to get the height I need and obviously different mounts to accomodate the longer spring. The front is what I'm not sure what to do on. Any guidance with someone with some experience doing this? I'm pretty dumb and new to this.

[No message]

photo32127.jpg

Am I better off just sticking with stock spring length on the rear? I want to keep the truck street legal but it won't be road tripping or hauling more than just trail/camping gear.

Next question because I'm dumb: looking at stock replacement leaf springs, should I get leaves rated at the capacity for the weight of the truck or go lighter for a better ride?