What's new

Stripping and strippers.

Dethmachinefab

Red Skull Member
Member Number
I've got a machine that needs paint removal and I do not want to sandblast because of grit getting everywhere and stuff getting damaged.

I have no experience with chemical strippers. Most of the paint is on diamond tread plate so it's going to suck. Is it possible to let a stripper sit on it and then powerwash off? I only see folks scraping it off on cars and such.

I need to repaint the red part on the crane. Doesn't look bad here, but I've got an upcoming job where I can't have any peeling paint. I also want it to look good.
20230528_135313.jpg

Anyway, here's the real reason you clicked on this thread.
Screenshot_2016-11-29-12-44-36-1~2.png

Screenshot_2016-11-29-12-44-46-1~2.png

Jasco paint and epoxy remover used to be the shit. Then they made it environmentally friendly and it sucks.

Most of the commercially available paint strippers suck because the government banned the methylene chloride that made them actually work.

Pressure washing will work if you find something that will lift the paint. I haven't had any luck with the new "safe" aircraft stripper removing any paint that's fully cured.

Last edited:
I ordered some stuff of McMaster, will do a test section this week and see how it goes.

I would just use a 8 inch DA with 36 grit. Less cleanup and probably cheaper. Can you remove panels and part? I would just do it in sections and paint as you go.

I would just use a 8 inch DA with 36 grit. Less cleanup and probably cheaper. Can you remove panels and part? I would just do it in sections and paint as you go.
If it was all flat plate that would be the plan. Diamond tread plate makes it impossible. It's all welded except for the hatch doors.

If it was all flat plate that would be the plan. Diamond tread plate makes it impossible. It's all welded except for the hatch doors.

Big wire brush?