What's new

School a newb on elk hunting

2JZ

Member Number
Just got my elk tag today. Wife got one too. Unit 1 in eastern AZ. November hunt I think. Neither of us have ever hunted anything in our lives. Total newbies.

Looking for any advice.

Around here. $1k in sitka PJ's, Rifles buttstock down, camo can of keylite in every cup holder, windows all rolled down with luke brian wailing at full blast, 5mph max no matter how many people are behind you, 9 light bars plus ditch lights turned on at all times for safety. Dont forget to park at an angle on a blind corner and get out to take a selfie for the 'gram. Gotta doccument all the hardcoreness goin on up in here:lmao:

If you hit em in the rear shoulders it will slow em down enough to get off a good shot on the front shoulders.

Anymore questions on how not to do it should be forwarded to captincall:flipoff2:

In CO, elk hunting means finding the owner of private property in your unit and paying him/her ~$1800 to hunt their property, otherwise, hunting on BLM land means you're going to wake up to a sea of orange on opening day.

Steve300xcw pretty much nailed it other than needing 300 rum, 300 lapua, 50 bmg or other big magnum. Because those are the only ones with enough "killing power" . "You don't need to be a great shot with --------(fill in blank with the largest rifle cartridge) because they have enough killing power that if you hit them they go down"