What's new

Rhino 660 rebuild options - suggestions

Projectjunkie

Whatever
Member Number
Loc
Tucson Az
I bought a pair of 2006 660 rhinos, one with a hole in the bottom end, the other with low compression

I believe they each have about 3500 miles

Realistically what is the easiest/ cheapest/ best bang for the buck path to get the low compression one running?
Buy a wiseco piston and ring and have jug honed?
Buy an Amazon or eBay jug kit?
Tear it apart?

I've never actually rebuilt a motorcycle engine:homer:

I'm not looking to make it new, just to make it run, put a few hours on it and trade it off

what say Irate?

First thing will be to find out why it has low compression. Check for a stuck valve or valve lash too tight. If thats not the problem then tear it down and measure/inspect the piston and bore for wear. It could be as simple as a stuck ring or rings that have been overheated and lost their tension.

Im no expert and i have never worked on a Rhino, but thats where i would start.

First thing will be to find out why it has low compression. Check for a stuck valve or valve lash too tight. If thats not the problem then tear it down and measure/inspect the piston and bore for wear. It could be as simple as a stuck ring or rings that have been overheated and lost their tension.

Im no expert and i have never worked on a Rhino, but thats where i would start.

It seems to have come on gradually, and was ridden regularly, thinking that would rule out the most of the valve train issues?

the rings being stuck or sprung is interesting, I'll do some diag when I pick it up

1. Throw a cheap cylinder kit on it and send it. They look to be $150 on amazon. Make the best out of the two.

2. Post the parts rhino up for however much it cost to fix the good one.

3. ???

4. Profit.