What's new

51 Rock Crawler Build Build Thread

C.R.D

Member Number
Hey everyone, So I have been building my 51 Ford rock crawler for a few years now. This past January there was some significant changes in my personnel life that have allowed me to spend more time building this project. So here is a run down of what I have done and where this is going.

The cab is a 51 Ford F4 pick up truck cab, the frame is a 01 GMC Serria along with the 5.3 LS that came in that truck, and the box came off of a 51 International Pickup. Before I get to far into this, I am pretty sure I started this build thread on here years ago, however I can not find or remember what my name was etc. for that account.

My goal for this build is a capable rock crawler, that is street legal, safe, and a head turner.

IF you want to see what I am working with, what my thought process is, and where I am to date here is a link to the YT channel.

Good Morning Everyone

So I am slowly plugging away on some sheet metal work that I will post some pictures of later this weekend, however I am quickly approaching the finish line for that and then will be moving onto the front Dana 60 swap. Which is going to be interesting..... So for the front coil overs I am obviously going to need some sort of support for that and to try and keep the price down I want to use some 1.750x.188 D.O.M. My initial thought was to use some TMR Customs shock tower brackets however the width of these push out past the frame rail. Also in a effort to make things easier I would like to do one large hoop that goes from the side of the rad (to act as a rad support) up to the fire wall which will tie in the engine cage as well as the roll cage. My issue is that where the shock hoop/engine cage bracket intersects with the fire wall it is where the break master cylinder will live.