What's new

1956 Cessna 182

Bacho

Yellow Skull
Member Number
Loc
Greenville SC
Been wanting an airplane project for some time. I enjoy tinkering/flying the 172 but I have been looking for something to replace it. The 182 hauls more weight and is considerably faster. This will be a very slow build. I have a strategy of working one area at a time as to not get over whelmed with the whole thing. I have an A&P, my day job is fixing CRJs which are a little different.

Airframe first, then engine/avionics.

I had been watching salvage auctions for a project and placed some bids. All of these auctions are sealed bids and the winning bids are not made public. I had no idea if I was in the ball park. Then I came across this 182 that had been parked at a nearby airport for 20 years. I had a quick look and seeing nothing major wrong I reached out to the owner who was interested in selling at a very steep price. He did agree to let me do a major inspection. I pulled all panels and was pleasantly surprised by what I was finding until I got to the firewall area. There were some corrosion issues in the boot cowl and firewall interface. Otherwise most of the plane appeared to have very good bones. I reported an honest assesment of the current condition to the seller and made him and offer. A couple weeks later we had a deal.

First order of business was to get it home. I pulled the tail and interior in one afternoon. The next afternoon a couple friends helped pull the wings and load it.

75E83049-8C0E-4B1A-B35B-390FC3F9E9A7.jpeg

FA8F0062-769E-4197-AF97-CB83F6576BD8.jpeg

DEE7A95A-497E-4B12-9ECB-4328FEB4A92E.jpeg

The next day our daughter was born a couple weeks ahead of schedule. I had gotten this home just in time!

Moving it into the shop was a bigger job than anticipated. Main gear had to come off and go onto a foam cradle.
EB1E6FA8-0339-46B3-A4F5-6EBC4CAD0753.jpeg

My plan was to start at the front and work my way to the back. Engine came off and pulled some skins.