What's new

Sick of Cheap Drill Bits - What Do I Want?

Etyler2

Your kind of Asshole
Member Number
Loc
Grass Valley CA
Sick of cheap drill bits, only the last couple years have I needed to drill holes in real metal.

Best bang for the buck drill bits set up to 1/2”?

Hand drill for now, looking for a decent used drill press on a stand.

Thanks!

Snag a normal set of Norseman stuff. Although you might be money ahead to just snag a few bits of each size you actually use.
Like dis?
IMG_3906.jpeg

I've been using these for a few years now. I would definitely buy again. I've replaced maybe 2 of the high uses sizes. Snapped one and I'm pretty sure I left one inside a carb when I used that size to check float height :homer:
Screenshot_20240329-220813.png

Last edited:
I've been using these for a few years now. I would definitely buy again. I've replaced maybe 2 of the high uses sizes. Snapped one and I'm pretty sure I left one inside a carb when I used that size to check float height :homer:
How the fuck are you supposed to resharpen those?

Anything made by Guhring.

Do those work as advertised? No pilot hole for any size, just line it up to a punch mark and go to town?

It seems like a gimmick. If you use them like regular bits, say in a hand drill, 1/8" pilot then 1/2" through hole or whatever, then it has to be a gimmick.

I say hand drill because in a lathe it doesn't matter as much how sharp it is in my experience. Also, Morse taper drills.

To contribute, I bought a set from fastenal off the counter a few years ago. Looks like this, I guess they're norseman.

They've been amazing. Leagues better than my china hss Drill set. I've broken the tips off a few doing dumb things, and haven't needed to sharpen any of the unbroken ones yet. Mostly hand drill use, maybe a few of them in a chuck on the lathe, but usually mt drills get used there.