What's new

Open Source PWM Fan Controller

Member Number
Loc
Sacramento, CA
So thanks to the Cooling Fan Tech thread I ended up with a sweet 850w brushless fan from a JL that I'm retrofitting onto my WJ. These fans have constant hot power from the battery, then use a small PWM trigger wire so the control circuit doesn't require any actual power handling. There are plenty of sweet solutions, (Like the SPAL PWM temp sensor from that thread), so I obviously need to go and overcomplicate it :flipoff2:. I'm still an electronics newb and have no interest in doing anything production related with it, so lets open source this thing. I'll be sharing my models for the housing, any useful links and all code stuff here. I'm sure you guys will have some input to make things better and better.

I'm making a unit based on the Arduino Nano, it has 12v input, and a temperature sensor input, then has a PWM output to the fan. Has a knob for varying the temp range, and a display screen to show important data. I think cost will be around $20-25 ish

Now the funny thing (and the curse), I don't really know how to write code so we're going to figure out how terrible ChatGPT is at writing code :laughing:, and then figuring out what's broken and how to improve it as we go.

It's approximately 1.3" x 3.4" long. I don't like that the barrel plug is non locking so that may change.

PWM Fan Controller - 3.JPG

PWM Fan Controller - 4.JPG

So to start things off on the coding side of things, I had to come up with a decent prompt for ChatGPT, that articulated everything I was trying to achieve. I actually did another full round of asking it to write this for me, but I asked for so many corrections and adjustments along the way the got really...messy looking. So this is a fresh prompt.

Arduino PWM Fan Controller

Initial logic prompt

Output 1: Pin #6

Output – PWM Signal
PWM Frequency – 40,000 hz
PWM Duty Cycle Range – 15%-95%
Intervals – 5% increments

Output 2: