What's new

Web design/hosting for a dumbass

MuntCuffin

Upgrayedded user
Member Number
Loc
Farm lands and horse's asses
I'd like to make a website and it appears the domain is available.

never made a website before. I'd like to make the website as immune as possible to censorship, so that eliminates aws and WordPress right off the bat.

any ideas? I'm sure there's fellas here that are smart with all this pooter stuff.

also not shitting on the idea of not hiring a web developer, but I have no idea on cost and I don't want to get fucked over...

new territory for this fucktarded mongoloid :homer:

Last edited:
I've been a software developer for over 20 years most of that working on one website or another. I could create a 100% custom website that does exactly what I want, but when I decided to create a blog (Home | Michael (wixsite.com)), I just went to WIX and used one of their templates to create a site. Unless you're building a site that needs to be custom because of "business requirements" just go with one of the free ones, try out https://wix.com and see if one of their templates work for you. I'm using a free account because I don't care about the URL; to use your own URL requires one of their paid plans.

Edited to add: Paying someone else to build a site for you will be pricey unless you're looking for someone's 16yo working out of mom's basement. When I did side work my rates ran anywhere between $100/hr (basic HTML/javascript) to $200/hr (fully architected solution using cloud technologies, web-services, web-functions, etc...). Even a pretty basic site would take at least a day (8-10hrs) to do. I built the site for my non-profit (In His Own Image) from scratch and have between 40-50 hours in it (it also contains administrative pages that are hidden from the public which account for about 1/2 of the hours).

Last edited: