What's new

The mini excavator thread

Tmackcj5

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
TX
Figured we could use an all things mini X thread.

I'm looking to pick up a used low budget machine in the 6-10,000 lbs range. I was planning to rent a machine but started adding up what I would spend on rental by the time I'm finished with property development and house buildng and I decided I'd be better off buying some old junk to cause me more work. :homer:

I have very little experience in this category, so any recommendations?

My criteria
-6-10K lbs for easy towability
-max budget $20K but really prefer to stay under 15K.
-a thumb would be plus
-Intended use is- expanding a pond, general building a house uses, and farm shit

FB marketplace has popped some options like:
-2002 IHI 25X $12,400
-2008 Komatsu PC35MRX $15,000
-2014 Kabota KX713 $16,500
-Komatsu PC78-6 $17,500

All of the above appear pretty clapped out, but I expect that to be the case with most machines in my price range.

Anything special I should be looking at on these little machines? How many hours is considered a lot?

Picture- We threw a construction equipment themed bday part for my oldest and a nephew when they turned 3. I borrowed a Bobcat E35, from work, for the party. My kido was sad when I took it back. He thought he was going to get to keep it. :lmao:
mini x.jpg

Last edited:
Hours isn't a great way to know. Looking at it is better.

I've seen machines with under 2,000 hours completely clapped out, and others with 20,000 and in decent shape.

The Kumatzoo is an 8 ton machine. I'd be leaning to that, but I'm used to a 200 and 330, so the little guts are quite discouraging trying to use.

I have a 40, about 10k lbs. and it borderline feels like a kid's toy.