What's new

Tap and die sets

71PA_Highboy

An Unknown but Engorged Member
Member Number
Loc
Near the Triad, Lookin' at the freeway
So normally I use my main T&D set, then add on the oddball tap / die I need, but recently I have been doing more metric work and my metric set is an el cheapo vato zone set that is ALMOST useless as the tolerances SUCK!

I can run a new bolt thru the die and end up with garbage threads that won't fit anything. Taps are the same... run them thru a good but rusty hole and a new bolt still binds....

Sooo... Who is selling a QUALITY T&D set with doesn't charge truck prices or is all chinesium and will cause more headaches than it is worth?

Price matters, quality matters... I want to find the right place in the middle...

my story: I used to be a pro mechanic, swapped over to IT about 25 years ago and still have a shit ton of snappy/matco/mac but no longer feel the need to pay their prices.

I dunno what you're doing wrong. My bottom dollar garbage chinese tap and die sets cut just fine in anything softer than about grade 8.

I just buy T&D's when ever I need a metric size or a specific thread class T or D from Mc Master Carr or MSC.

I just buy T&D's when ever I need a metric size or a specific thread class T or D from Mc Master Carr or MSC.

I'd say this. There are probably only a half dozen metric sizes and pitches that you use most in automotive applications. Pick up good, US made versions of those and keep the trash set for the random odd sizes you only need once in a while.

I'd say this. There are probably only a half dozen metric sizes and pitches that you use most in automotive applications. Pick up good, US made versions of those and keep the trash set for the random odd sizes you only need once in a while.