What's new

Stupid Modern Plumbing

Member Number
Loc
Abitibi
Or, more likely, stupid modern homeowner.

Since I don't value my time, at all, I do all my own stuff. I'm an electrician by trade, but also weld, mechanic, pretend to be a carpenter, and unfortunately plumb.

So, ever since I discovered Propex it's all I use, and it's been fantastic except for sweating together the goddamned brass fittings to other stuff. Sweating onto copper pipe is easy, but sweating a brass adapter onto a cast chinesium valve is fucking hell. I've melted the body of bathroom vanity valves before the solder would melt.

I'm using fancy bullshit "lead-free" solder and "plumbing friendly" flux. I'm pretty sure if I used real lead solder and old fashioned radioactive flux this shit would sweat together perfectly.

So, what am I doing wrong? I disassembled my valve so I don't melt the rubber stuff, I cleaned inside and outside my fittings, I fluxed both pieces, I heated everything up with a big propane torch like shown fed from a 20 lbs bottle with a hose.

I heated the connection and kept trying the solder. The flux liquefied and boiled away before the solder would melt. Since the flux gassed off leaving the joint not wet, the solder would not flow nicely into the joint.

Should I "tin" both fittings first, then assemble them hot?
Would MAPP gas help?

What do real plumbers use? I'm betting it's real lead solder.

And yes, that is a Canada-sized frost free valve.:smokin:

Click image for larger version  Name:	image_20982.jpg Views:	6 Size:	499.2 KB ID:	116594

Click image for larger version  Name:	image_20984.jpg Views:	5 Size:	584.1 KB ID:	116596

Click image for larger version  Name:	image_20985.jpg Views:	6 Size:	532.5 KB ID:	116597

Click image for larger version  Name:	image_20984.jpg Views:	5 Size:	584.1 KB ID:	116596

Last edited:
Cant help with your solder issue as I'm unfamiliar with your propex. Just going to suggest pulling the stem out of the valve so you dont melt the washer