What's new

Some Help Identifying These Hoses

LScout800

LS Powered Tractor
Member Number
Loc
CA
Was coming down from Fresno and the heater vents started spewing smoke, pulled off the side of the road before the fire spread anywhere else, it went out right away.
Truck is a 1991 F250 with a 5.8 and a 5 speed.
20230624_133947.jpg

20230624_133939.jpg

Need some help identifying these hoses, and what exactly caused them to catch fire. There is a whole vacumn line mess on top of the engine and I was having trouble figuring out what did what. Truck needs a smog by the end of the month.

I used to know but I forgot because emissions systems on 90s trucks are irrelevant by over a decade here. :flipoff2:

Kinda looks like the air diverter valve.

Not sure why that shit would ever get hot enough to catch fire since it's got a smog pump feeding it air

I am no expert here, but after looking at many images I believe it to be an Exhaust Air Supply Valve:

7D1059.jpg

I've also seen it listed as an Air Bypass diverter Valve, but the pictures all show the same part. And it's part of the air pump system as 72Pstroke stated.

Hope this helps and good luck... :beer:

I am no expert here, but after looking at many images I believe it to be an Exhaust Air Supply Valve:

7D1059.jpg

I've also seen it listed as an Air Bypass diverter Valve, but the pictures all show the same part. And it's part of the air pump system as 72Pstroke stated.

Hope this helps and good luck... :beer:
Looks like what it is. Will run to the parts store later today to check. Was having a lot of trouble figuring out what it was thanks.
I used to know but I forgot because emissions systems on 90s trucks are irrelevant by over a decade here. :flipoff2:

Kinda looks like the air diverter valve.

Not sure why that shit would ever get hot enough to catch fire since it's got a smog pump feeding it air