What's new

RV propane tank monitoring?

smurfblue40

Baconologyst
Member Number
Loc
Sloughhouse Ca
I am a newb to the whole RV / Travel trailer world...

I mostly use propane for grilling and smoking. I have several spare tanks to swap out if I run one dry, I won’t have that luxury away from home

Is there a fairly reliable gadget available to monitor the amount of propane I have on board while out traveling?

*I have used the stick on “gauges”, and the inline pressure gauges on my bbq. I just wondered if there was something better?

615qV9%2Bx-pL._AC_SY679_.jpg

Run the tanks with a gauge and expect them to be close to accurate (upright tanks?)
belly tanks should be hardwired...
Them fishscales should be size dependent.

How big are the tanks and how often are you using them? If they're just a couple 20's, I'd carry a few extra. If they're 30's, and you don't expect to spend more than a 3-4 day trip I'd just fill them every trip and see what you go through to give you an estimated fill schedule.

Or you could be a baller and just toss a few 100's on a custom rack and fill every season. :grinpimp:

I ran across those while searching. I may have to do some research. That’s kind of what I’m looking for, I just don’t want to pay for a pos gimmick.

I have been using them for 6 months. They are magnetic to the bottom of the tank and come with little tank standoffs to raise the tank 1/2" and some dielectric grease to aid in the ultrasonic stuff. I might order some full diameter plastic risers though as the little soft aluminum standoffs are not awesome when you are taking the tanks on and off to get refilled. But so far the sensors have been fairly accurate.

I’ve camped in 60F daytime 30F nighttime weather for 5 days with a 25’ camper trailer.
Hot water, cook stove, refrigerator, and furnace as needed and not emptied a 20 lb tank.
We cook outside mostly using the spare 20 pounder or wood fire if so allowed.