What's new

Old welding tanks.....

total newb

senior jerk ass
Member Number
Loc
trinity center ca
Totalgrandmainlaw bought a house and i have moved the majority of my gear into the large detached garage (by her request). I have found so much old shit hidden away but i finaly found something legitimately sketchy. I posted before about finding vials of "coramine", glass syringes and suture kits.
lots of very old parts books and playboy centerfolds.

the previous family owned this house since 1955ish and the old man was pretty much the center of the town. The local go to guy for everything from boat & auto repair, fix anything, and guy how kept this lil town going for a long time. House was moved up from the bottom of the lake before the dam was built and his great/grandson was the last owner.

Off in the corner of the property i found 2 old welding tanks 90% buried in the dirt. Well i finaly dug them out and beat the dirt filled safety caps off only to find the still have psi in them! The one must have been nearly new as it only has '70 stamped on it. The other started in '48 and the last date on it is '75.

They are both male rh thread so that tells me they are at least inerts. Ox/argon/co2. I held a lighter to them and got zero reaction. Contents stickers are both completely destroyed.

Anyway to determine whats in them?
Ill grab a regulator and check psi in a bit but holy shit.

Odds are ill just bleed them out and pull the valves off as i have full tanks of my own and they make good legs for anvil/vice stands/shooting gongs and other such nonsense

20201127_134526.jpg

20201127_134529.jpg

Last edited:
Cream cylinder = Co2 in some colour codes

Why not just go exchange them?
Never can have too much extra gas on hand.
I wouldn’t go punching holes in perfectly good cores.

This. Arc3, arigas, etc. will take them as exchanges and re-hyrdo them.