What's new

Old Red Miller welder ?

Jag

Member Number
Loc
Commieland
Did Miller ever make red machines?

I have a buddy thats old enough i think hes planning his exit and at random just gives me stuff.

Today i get a call he wants to give me his welder and all the supply's, im not the guy to take stuff free but he was adamant.

I only had a second to glance at it today but im fairly certain it said Miller. Old snap on shade of red.

Looks to be from the 50s, has an oil cooling fluid pump on the top, is tig and arc, Possably mig as there was also a bunch of wire spools in the supply's. Its on a cart and is approximately 5’ high, 4’ deep and 3’ wide with a bottle thats at least double the size of my 120s maybe bigger.

Its on a cart with 8” hard rubber wheels but Weighs enough ill have to use the Kubota to move it.

I have no experience with old machines but this guy built alot of high end stuff with it during his life so im sure its a good machine.

I wont be able to get over to pick it up for awhile. Any idea what model it might be?

Edit: he mentioned its all american made but has a german made oil pump.

Ive never even seen an oil pump on a welder let alone know any details of how it works. I assumed the oil cooling was like the modern stuff with a cooled torch but its apparently for the wizard making the magic inside the machine.

Last edited:
Idk much about the oil stuff but it could be a transformer cooling system.

Some large transformers used oil instead of solid packing. Idk if that ever made it into welders.

Idk much about the oil stuff but it could be a transformer cooling system.

Some large transformers used oil instead of solid packing. Idk if that ever made it into welders.