What's new

I want something that doesnt exist, or i just cant find. Vehicle rifle storage.

total newb

senior jerk ass
Member Number
Loc
trinity center ca
Im looking to store 2-3 ar15 in a "center console" type box.

I have a 99 superduty with bucket seat with aproxamately 15" gap, 36-44" between dash and back seat.

The catch is i need them to load in from the top, with a bifolding or end hinge and a fairly thin top.

The pelican stuff (#1740) is the closest but it has a side hinge with a very thick (multiple inches) top. If it fit i couldnt be opened.

Idealy they will be verticaly stored with foam inserts

Aside from building from scratch, got any ideas?

I looked for some ammo can type boxes but did find anything even close either.

School locker?

I used to work out of these bedrail boxes that might be close (or would be nice to model after if fabbing your own). Tipped on it's back with a gas strut for open assist would be pretty slick.

TB-Topsider-DZ70TB-01.jpg

Looking thru their catalog and saw these, pretty narrow and has lift strut, but handle is on side instead of top.

TB-Specialty-M207-2.jpg

I did find this and it looks pretty close to what i want.

Just need to take some measurements of rifles and the gap between seats. There is a slightly longer one available also.

Screenshot_20231124-192238_Amazon Shopping.jpg

What are you tryin to do? I can see having something handy. But 2-3 rifles?

What about those shelves that mount above the windshield? Could stash one there easy nuff

Just keep them handy for when i wind up in a spot where shooting would be fun/acceptable.
Not for eminent threat/self defence/quick access.

At the same time i do go to redding/medford and often wind up wishing i had brought one with me for squirrels. Superduties and guns are getting stolen like crazy and (to me) a visible gun on a back board is begging to get your windows busted at the bear minimum.