What's new

I think my sd abs/master is failing, stupid questions.

total newb

senior jerk ass
Member Number
Loc
trinity center ca
12/99 f350

So one of my front calipers "locked up". Compressed the pistons and cleaned the pin holes out, greased them up and put it back together. Pedal felt good to take up slack, 1 psi pump and check the wheel, stuck again.

So what are the odds that its the abs or the master? Any obvious ways to verify 1 or the other? Since it is only 1 front cal i suspect the abs.

Im about done fucking with this poor thing anyhow but its 1 more thing thats gona drive the price down and be shitty to drive till i do sell it.

I replaced front lines with the calipers either last summer or the one before, but they were napa lines so maybe. Thats why i didnt go with soft line option because "theyre new so theyre good right?"

Does that mean new calipers as well?

Are you running phenolic piston calipers? If it got hot and stuck once, I'd be highly suspect they deformed and are susceptible to stocking again

I replaced front lines with the calipers either last summer or the one before, but they were napa lines so maybe. Thats why i didnt go with soft line option because "theyre new so theyre good right?"
Manufacture defects comes to mind, so not necessarily. Myself due to issues with OEM lines and the like over the years, if I'm replacing the flexible line it's going to be braided.

Yes they were both done at that time. The thing is though, it didnt stick, it compressed down just fine, cycled out just fine.

So like trikekid said, its not releasing psi/return flow. Which is why im thinking up stream.

Yes they were both done at that time. The thing is though, it didnt stick, it compressed down just fine, cycled out just fine.

So like trikekid said, its not releasing psi/return flow. Which is why im thinking up stream.
If you crack the bleeder does it return/back off?