What's new

How do UPS claims work between private party transactions?

makemeknowit

Kwisatz Haderach
Member Number
Loc
Memphis, TN
I have no experience on a private level, only vendor.
Sold a guy a distributor based on the info I was given when I got it in a group of parts. It wound up not being what I thought/was told. Buyer informed me, I said send it back and I'll refund. It gets back to me with the cap destroyed. Dude said it didn't leave his possession like that. He filed a claim with UPS. What confuses me is I get a notice stuck on my door where UPS tried to pick up a package soon after the claim. I have nothing I'm trying to return anywhere. Hence my question of damage claim on the private party level. Does UPS "own" the damaged goods if they are paying for said damage thru the insurance on the package? Or did the UPS guy just stick a notice on the wrong door?

I have no experience on a private level, only vendor.
Sold a guy a distributor based on the info I was given when I got it in a group of parts. It wound up not being what I thought/was told. Buyer informed me, I said send it back and I'll refund. It gets back to me with the cap destroyed. Dude said it didn't leave his possession like that. He filed a claim with UPS. What confuses me is I get a notice stuck on my door where UPS tried to pick up a package soon after the claim. I have nothing I'm trying to return anywhere. Hence my question of damage claim on the private party level. Does UPS "own" the damaged goods if they are paying for said damage thru the insurance on the package? Or did the UPS guy just stick a notice on the wrong door?

The shipper usually has to file the claim. And yes, they may want to take possession of the item to investigate. Pretty much like any insurance - you don't necessarily get to keep it if they pay for it.

Hate to say it, but every time I or anyone I know tried to file a claim it always came back as "not packaged properly"