What's new

Has anyone used Tuff Stuff brand power steering pumps?

12bravo

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
arm pit of kansas
Trying this over here instead of the general newb section. :homer:
They are half the price of replacing with trail gear,(speedway price is $160-ish) and specs are 3.0 gpm and 1200psi. They have a tapped suction port with AN fittings so they should be a direct bolt in replacement for the ten+ year old trail gear that is whining when hot and has to be above idle to get easy turning. The old fluid is looking like a glitter milk shake so I am assuming the pump is on its death path.
:usa:

Looks promising.
I have no experience with their pumps, but I've used quite a few of their alternators on muscle cars with good results.

I might try one of them, I could by two of these ones for the price of one failgear. Although, the wore out trail gear one I have in there now took ten years of abuse.

These are $156.99, the PSC TC pump is $200. Why not spend an extra $55 and get the PSC? I tried to save some money one time by using a stock p/s pump off a Wrangler that i modded. It was a TC style pump as well. Worked okay for 5 years until it started making a ton of noise. Replaced it with a PSC and haven't had a problem since.

These are $156.99, the PSC TC pump is $200. Why not spend an extra $55 and get the PSC? I tried to save some money one time by using a stock p/s pump off a Wrangler that i modded. It was a TC style pump as well. Worked okay for 5 years until it started making a ton of noise. Replaced it with a PSC and haven't had a problem since.
good idea

to be somewhat cliche every time I try to save money on parts I end up paying more in time/energy/money than if I had bought the "good" part to begin with :homer:

I will say, when I smoked my tg powerflow super duper pump, I replaced it with the $200 psc pump and haven't noticed a drop in performance.