What's new

Front Axle Shafts

Brecklin

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
Appleton WI
I've been running a set of OG Longfield 30 splines for the last 8 years or so, and today finally broke one.

What are people running these days? I was thinking of going the RCV route. I think the 300M would be overkill, as the chromolly Longs have done their job just fine through the years.

How's the warranty on the RCV shafts? I know they say lifetime, but is that only on the 300M units? Years back I broke one of the Longs and the warranty process was very easy to deal with.

The axles used to be under my second gen on 38.5" Boggers, and the truck got used hard..

Now they are under a Samurai on 35s thats more of a DD/light to moderate wheeler but definitely not beat like the old truck was.

What are you guys running?

I'm pretty sure OG Longs get warrantied by TG. That being said, I wouldn't hold my breath for TG to make it right.
RCV seems like the go to for beef nowadays. Good luck, man.

I have had friends that warrantied parts through RCV and they all had a great experience.

RCV does warranty the OG longfields

i had rcv 300m on my 4runner for about 3 years no issues, locked on 37's

my buddy ran the rcv chromos for like 6 years no issues on his 4runner, locked on 37's with exo

im looking to get tacoma width rcv chromos if time permits

OG longs have 300m inner stars. So your overkill is the same as what you already had. Go with rcv.

Thanks for the replies guys.

Im wondering if mine could just be rebuilt. I havent torn it down yet but I have a suspicion that the inner star broke. It didnt act like it normally would when a bell explodes.

I'm going to call RCV today and see what they say.

Take'r easy guys.

Edit - I just spoke with RCV, they DO NOT warranty OG Longs.

Last edited:
yep they sell the cradle and ball bearings as a kit, its not on there website tho

yotamasters has it on theres for $100