What's new

ever buy tools you don't know how to use?

gerber boy

Red Skull Member
Member Number
months ago having coffee at my parents and mentioned i wanted to new drill press in passing.
couple weeks ago get a text from mom saying her friend has some sanders and a big drill press for sale. told her i bought one but who knows if the price was right maybe???
ended up getting a couple of pics and was told it will be cheap......

short story long i came home with this and a couple of big vertical sanders. i have no knowledge of machining whatsoever but the price was to good not to buy.

Attachments

• milling machine 2.jpg
    milling machine 2.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 166
  • milling machine 5.jpg
    milling machine 5.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 85
  • milling machine.jpg
    milling machine.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 86
Best way to learn is by trying it. My machining skills are all earned through trial and error. Worst thing about machining is the tooling and measuring tools will be a multiple times more expensive than the machine itself.
yeah this didnt come with anything for tooling, other then 2 hold-downs and 1 bit. i have been pricing some stuff out but being in Canada its always more money and harder to find

I bought a Tig welder. I'm glad I can tig now. Wish I had a machining tools though. I'm jealous.

Looks pretty much spot on to my Harbor freight clone of a 6x26 knee mill... I'm sure they were sold under many different brands. Get yourself some 80% lowers and a jig and start building some AR lowers! :usa:

Other than a hammer or a drill I don’t really know how tools work. I was looking at a mini mill then asked myself ‘what would you even do with it if you have it?’ My answer is usually ‘nothing. Other than let my friends use it if they know how.’

Looks like a great size mill for a home shop