What's new

Coupler lock for Demco style on dump trailer?

Gatorgrizz27

Member Number
Looking for a coupler lock for my dump trailer. It will be rented out so it may be parked in some less than ideal areas. It has the Demco coupler like this, which prevents many of them with the slot on the bottom that slides over the flanged lip from working.

B05041DD-8711-485A-A024-7FF4FEED0E8F.png

The ones that have the metal horseshoe bar going over the top look like they would take all of 30 seconds to cut with an angle grinder. I have a Master lock one on my boat trailer that fits this coupler, but sits on it weird so I think somebody could whack it with a hammer and break it.

What do y’all recommend? Would like something in the sub $150 range as the plan is to keep adding trailers. Would be nice if additional ones could be ordered keyed the same also.

With the advent of the m18 fuel grinder nothing is “safe” anymore. Money ahead would be to put a gps locator on it and make sure your insurance is up to snuff.

With the advent of the m18 fuel grinder nothing is “safe” anymore. Money ahead would be to put a gps locator on it and make sure your insurance is up to snuff.

So much this

My connex had the nice big box over the padlock, the connex next door didn't and would get broken into. Until tweakers brought a cordless sawzall and slipped the blade behind it.

I could see fabricating some sort of cup that slides over the coupler and some high security locking mechanism to the tongue, but your renters are going to be retarded, GPS and good insurance is the key

You can buy all the locks you want, but chances are, it'll be hooked to a pickup and it'll just be easier to steal that

Also, if you're going into the trailer rental business, which I've considered doing, I'd pick an ungodly recognizable color and have your fleet painted inside, outside, underneath.