What's new

Chimney liners

87manche

kinder and gentler
Member Number
Loc
lake erie
how do they work?
My mother in laws liner has apparently sagged in the chimney and now the wall thimble is all fucky and it doesn't seal for shit.

My plan was to clean it, send a camera down it to make sure that it's not separated inside and then hoist the bastard up 8" at the top and secure it again.
I have never done any of this before and the roof is clay tile that terrifies me.

I'm going to see if I can get a towable boom lift near enough, but fucking trees and powerlines everywhere.

The chimney people refused to go onto the roof to stick a camera down it and see if it was fucked or not, so they just quoted the "you need a new one" price of 10 grand. The chimney itself is in OK shape and was repaired when the roof guy fixed all the flashing up there 2 years ago.
I'm not ruling out that guy didn't get it put back together properly, but it's a little late now.

so how fucked am I? It's probably 40 feet of liner, from the basement wood stove to a tall peaked 2nd story roof. about how much is it gonna weigh and how fucking stuck is it going to be?

​​The answers gunna be pages long.
Knee jerk reaction, it is not installed RIGHT.
It needs to be secured (depending on code) in multiple points in the chaseway.
Suspended by the top only, allows the joints to pull apart (if not screwed together) held up by the ceiling thimble takes one hella mounting!

Oh and in before the"you're gunna burn the house down crowd":flipoff2:

Last edited:
it's not a solid liner.
it's a stainless flex pipe with a horizontal 90 to a free standing wood stove in the basement. It was installed after a chimney fire like 10 years ago. They used the grout style insulation. Everything was cool until last year.

The instructions say that you're just supposed to tighten a hose clamp in the top plate to secure it and that the top plate bears all the weight.

I'm about 90% sure it's this: