What's new

Belts (for ATV)

woods

I probably did it wrong.
Member Number
ATV needs a belt. There's $30 belts and $70 belts. These things all the same? Or am I going to wipe the $30 out in a day? "Gates" is the brand in question here.

I’m having really good luck with sandstorm belts. They’re $160 for my turbo RZR. What machine is it?

I have no atv belt experience but I have never had an issue with a gates brand belt.

I’m having really good luck with sandstorm belts. They’re $160 for my turbo RZR. What machine is it?

2006 Polaris Sportsman 700 EFI

Just a yard machine. Dub around in the woods a little bit.

Whats wrong with OEM? It lasted you this long.

Just the price. $30 vs $77. Only had the machine a couple years now. Bought it last year I think? Who knows how old this belt is.

2006 Polaris Sportsman 700 EFI

Just a yard machine. Dub around in the woods a little bit.

For that I’d just buy a gates and forget about it. 4wheelers don’t seem to eat belts all that often. A friend I know has an 05 Grizzly with the original belt and over 2500 miles.

For that I’d just buy a gates and forget about it. 4wheelers don’t seem to eat belts all that often. A friend I know has an 05 Grizzly with the original belt and over 2500 miles.

Yamahas don't eat belts like the others because they have a wet clutch, so at idle the primary comes to a complete stop and never actually slips on the belt.

I blew a belt in Utah years ago in my Turbo rzr with 32” tires.
I replaced the $200 Polaris belt multiple times and forgot to grab a spare before the trip.

Went to a local mx shop and they were sold out, but the guy behind the counter quietly told me to go over to Napa and buy their belt. It was $60-70, so I bought 2, figuring it would break quick. That was 3 years ago. That belt is still in my rzr.