What's new

Backyard adventures of InDaRed2

InDaRed2

Member Number
Loc
STL
Got some projects going on in the back yard and what better teacher to learn from than 2BigBronco! It's not as adventurous as pouring 487 yards of concrete with bags and a harbor freight mixer but there's lots of manual labor involved. One, because I'm cheap, two, because I didn't want a skid steer going all over the place and tearing the yard up more than needed and three, because 2BB makes it look easy! :flipoff2:

Overall goal is hot tub under the deck. Hot tubs are just like everything else right now and in short supply. Picked one out from a group of batched orders a local place has lined up. It's not due in until sometime in September so I got some time to get things set up.

So the deck is there already but we need some concrete under it to put the tub on so being an engineer I got fancy with the drawing.

20200805_194449.jpg

Step 1 is to get rid of the "temporary" drain tile sump pump/downspout extensions and bury some schedule 40 PVC since 5,000+ pounds is going to be on top of it.

20200715_183642.jpg

Snapchat-1582784611.jpg

Step 2, cheat and rent a teacher! :flipoff2::flipoff2::flipoff2:

Snapchat-1814187327.jpg

Step 3, hand dig the angled portions so I don't end up in the basement or tearing the deck down with the trencher. :laughing: Started hitting clay at this point so that was fun.

Cut some pipe, dangle some angles and glue some shit together. Fuck glueing down in the trench, glued most of it up top and set it in the hole.

Snapchat-164863833.jpg

Continued...

Also stubbed in a location for a future downspout for drainage from the ghetto under deck drain system I'll be installing sometime in the near future.

Click image for larger version  Name:	20200805_201809.jpg Views:	0 Size:	153.5 KB ID:	93623

Next is to backfill, but not too much under the deck cuz your dumbass will just have to dig it back out later. :lmao: