What's new

Anyone here own or have built an indoor gun range

Runningquarters

Member Number
Loc
Palmer tx
Just like the title says. Trying to find somebody to give me some insights in to building a sizable indoor shooting range for our 4H kids. We have the land and are looking for some guidance. Costs and tips on types of construction. I'm looking into the grants available. Mostly pistol and rimfire rifles.
Thanks for any guidance you guys can give me.

The nra has resources for designing your own range. My club has an indoor range. The backstop is railroad ties. Pistol and rimfire use only.

The last club I was a member of had little shacks (quite nice actually) that one could shoot from. They had man 'o war style doors to open and shoot out from benches. The only part that was indoor was the comfortable part.

I have some experience with upgrading an existing range. The most EXPENSIVE part is the ventilation and filtering. Especially if youre building for kids. I would seriously consider a covered outdoor range.

I have some experience with upgrading an existing range. The most EXPENSIVE part is the ventilation and filtering. Especially if youre building for kids. I would seriously consider a covered outdoor range.

Ventilation and lead abatement will drive the cost through the roof. I’d agree with a covered outdoor range, with fans and heaters if necessary. The only reason for an indoor range IMO is if you’re in town.

250k will get you a 54' semi trailer 3 lane range.

I recommend a snail bullet trap over shredded tire sand or water.

Many years ago I saw one in a magazine built under the guys back yard using several lengths of culvert and he shoot from inside his basement