What's new

Anybody know a godamn thing about awd astro van diffs?

total newb

senior jerk ass
Member Number
Loc
trinity center ca
So i got roped into a side job with a total spaz, dude is off the wall adhd and has blown the front diff out of this astro van.

Before he ever called me he had already ordered a diff off of who fucking knows from some fucking where. It arrived, he nevered opened the box, loaded the van up and brought both to me.

Well guess fucking what, the upper bushing mount is busted off the diff and appears to be a 3.21 when the van is listed as 3.42.

In general. I fucking hate vans. They are built with light duty parts and nothing ever works out like it should.

So as it boils down, this is a 98 or 99 and he spracked on and on how this is a 1 year only version. Idk.

what idk if its something with the van ifs half tube or mounts or positions or spline or cv shaft setups that make the a van axle different than a s10.

things that i DO KNOW
-it is a 7.625"
-it has a steel p-side tube with no actuator.
-it has a open d-side axle seat that goes straight to the side gear not a flange axle for a bolt on cv.
-It has a removeable steel cover/seal retainer for that side
-the p-side axle shaft is a male spline not a cv flange.

So on top of not knowing shit about vans, idk shit about s10s either. So as a whole i need to know if an s10 primary diff housing is the same as an astro van and if i can simply jamb the steel axle tube on to said s10 housing?

I will source or get better pics.

20201220_180532.jpg

Yes you can use the right side tube on a s10 differential. S10s have the one with the actautor/disconnect, AWD asshole(astro) vans and bravadas have the solid shaft.

:lmao:

Why am I not surprised that the patron saint of "I refuse to learn about anything that isn't a square body GM" can't figure out parts interchange for a minivan.

x2 on what Rennat said.