What's new

1st generation 3.5 ecoboost reliability?

Poriggity

Ketchup Dog
Member Number
Loc
Bates City, Mo
So, insurance has totalled my truck.. so I am looking at going to a half ton, as the heaviest I really tow is my 4000 lb travel trailer or my flatbed trailer with my ZJ on it. My budget puts me in a 2011 to 2014 Ford F150 or Dodge Ram 1500 of similar year. I'm seriously leaning toward the F150 strictly for back seat space, as I have 3 kids, two of which are in carseats. Fitting them all in my quad cab Ram was a challenge, so back seat space trumps bed space this go around.

I have been looking around at F150s, and have found quite a few with the 3.5 ecoboost, as well as some with the 5.0. I know the 5.0 is solid, and my dad has a 2nd gen ecoboost in his 2015 f150, but I have little experience with the first gen eco boost f150s, so I am looking for input from you all. This is a heavy contender currently.

Pic of totalled truck, just because..

Screenshot_20210204-204606_Brave.jpg

20210203_095550.jpg

I bought a 2014 3.5 4x4 crew a few weeks ago and went on a 10 day vacation in the mountains. The engine was excellent, no hunting for gears from the trans and plenty of power.
We may be returning the truck to Enterprise tomorrow. It sucks and we will likely end up in a 2020 with a 5.0 I am worried we wont like it after the 3.5. The option there is lariat with 5.0 or xlt with 3.5 not sure what we will do.
Anyway point of post...the 3.5 is great imho.

I bought a 2014 3.5 4x4 crew a few weeks ago and went on a 10 day vacation in the mountains. The engine was excellent, no hunting for gears from the trans and plenty of power.
We may be returning the truck to Enterprise tomorrow. It sucks and we will likely end up in a 2020 with a 5.0 I am worried we wont like it after the 3.5. The option there is lariat with 5.0 or xlt with 3.5 not sure what we will do.

Why are you thinking of returning the 3.5? Strictly because it's xlt vs lariat?

WTF are you trying to say?