What's new

Who does any of that New Aged shit? Yoga, meditation, etc.

For me, yoga is guided stretching. Guided by a hot chick in yoga pants. I do it for the physical benefits.

I push a keyboard for a living, our bodies weren't built for that. When my back starts to hurt, I get in the habit of doing the same yoga video every day and my back is good again in a couple weeks.

I try to start my day with 15 min of guided meditation in the hot tub followed by a cold shower. My day is better when I do that. Not sure how much can be contributed to the meditation.

I think I find value in meditating, but it's still a bit unclear. I'd like to say I do. Maybe just having a routine is what does it.

I will say that if I'm feeling particularly overwhelmed and can't concentrate at some point in the day, I'll spend 5 breaths thinking about nothing but breathing, and it gets me back on track.

Our local PBS station has a 30 minute Yoga show. Wai Lana Yoga. Set your DVR.

I do yoga at least once a week. My GF did the 300 hr certification and leads me through class most of the time. I've got to the point where I'll do some shorter sessions on my own.

Most of what I like to do is range of movement, balance, and restorative. I find it excellent for the sports I'm into, especially motocross and climbing.

I've started doing old people arthritis stretches so I can walk in the mornings.
Wife keeps bugging me to do yoga with her.

I was doing yoga 2 times a week with my daughter up until the first of the year and the free yoga class got canceled at the gym because the instructor left:frown:

I liked it and was trying to find a new place, but will hold off until the docs figure my shoulder out. Just go. It's good. Like with everything though, start slow and work into it.

Meditation is not about silence or special music and sitting quietly in a safe room with your legs crossed in a fashion that is impossible for grown men.
But it can be.