What's new

Tire Vulcanization Discussion

Latest one.
I think I need to grind/make a larger smooth area.

Attachments

• 1ADFB150-7677-4FF2-8CDB-72EBBF4E7C05.jpeg
    1ADFB150-7677-4FF2-8CDB-72EBBF4E7C05.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 54
Gotta go back and reread this...
Anyone mentioned
Glue Tread yet?

I'm no expert but I've probably had a dozen or more tires professionally done over the years. Ones that had big goobery blobs like your pic tended to get caught and ripped out vs having a nice smooth transition to the sidewall.
Yeah, I’m going to try sanding it down, trimming a larger area & then do another patch.
If it doesn’t go well, I’ll start over . :(

I wish I could be more help but it has been a long time. Back in my 20s I worked in a recapping shop. We did lots of sidewall repairs on Semi tires. If I remember right we used a tool, sort of a Dremel deal, with a drill bit thing. You would clean the hole out and round all the sides, buff it to a 45% angle all on the outside of the hole. You would then buff the inside of the tire, add cement to the buffed surfaces, let dry, at least 5 min. Put the patch on the inside of the tire, then add the rubber to the outside. Then you would put the spot repair on it and let it cure. I know there was a formula for how long you would cook it but I have idea now what is was. We also used a vulcanizing gun to heat up the rubber to spread it in the hole. Something like this.
vulcanising gun - - Image Search Results
Wow those are not cheap!
We also used a stone to clean up the cords.
This is the company we bought the supplies from.

Last edited:
So I'm still curious if anyone else has used this unit and how it was with red labels being repaired.

I’ll give in update.
All (3-4) the tires have held up well over the last year. Most gave 5+ trips.
1 tire pre-ran the rock sections of KOH without an issue.

My advice on this: Take your time & spend lots of time on prep.
If you rush you don’t get as good of results.