What's new

Street Legal SxS

Poke

I’m condescending
Member Number
I use my X3 as a daily driver legally in NY. I have helped a few other people become street legal.

If this doesn't work for you or you get in trouble... oh well. I am no lawyer, certainly not yours. Educate yourself, verify everything I type. if you spend time and $ on this and it does not go how you wanted it's not my fault. Basically, don't take my advice and then think your actions are my fault. Your actions are your fault, don't take advice from some guy on the net.

Here is the process...
-Start Montana LLC through a registered agent.
-Sell your SXS to your LLC with a bill of sale
-Get a Montana title with the owner as your LLC
-Apply for a permanent street legal registration for a Quadracycle

A company will do all this for $850 for you. It takes 2-3 weeks.

You need the following
-DOT tires
-Blinkers/Flasher/Horn ($200 ish)
-Side view and rear view mirrors.

Then on top of that follow the regulations of the state you are in... for example, in PA all light bars need a cover so you cant use them on a road. In NY I don't need a windshield because they are manufactured with out one. ETC...

So ask a way, if interested.

Since your original thread on this I have been looking at the logistics in CT. Right now in CT there are two definitions for ATVs. The problem I see is it looks like the MVC can just decide on a whim that SxSs fall under that category, which might pose a problem. The 2nd definition is much more clear cut on what qualifies and what doesnt.