What's new

Scout scopes. Do they suck?

Aisin

Grumpy old fuck
Member Number
I have zero experience with them. I know there are not many out there. I am currently looking at the Burris 2-7. Does anyone have any insight on these things? Drink bleach? Step on a Claymore?:flipoff2:

Couple of friends have had them and I tried them. Do not like them anywhere near as much as a conventional scope setup. There were on ruger scout rifles. At least one of them switched to a conventional scope from the scout setup.
I think with the lpvo on the market today they have faded out of whatever fashion they might have been in.

Mine happened to be right beside me. Set it up close to 20 years ago now. Just 1x Leupold. I love it. Most of our shooting is less than 100 yards. Whittled the old Mohawk stock down so it points more like a shotgun.
Scout.jpg

Mine happened to be right beside me. Set it up close to 20 years ago now. Just 1x Leupold. I love it. Most of our shooting is less than 100 yards. Whittled the old Mohawk stock down so it points more like a shotgun.
Scout.jpg

I bet that thing is fast to get on target! I like it, what mount is that?

I dig the concept, and have shopped for them off and on. Nowadays it's tough to find an optic that's decent, reasonably priced, and works well for a Scout setup.

If anyone knows better I'm all ears. My dumb SKS build needs one.

It is quick. Both eyes open. It's a weaver base blank a buddy machined to match the barrel contour.
Gotcha, I have one of those lil 600's in a 350 mag. Fucker moves enough that having the scope be waaaaaay up front, wouldnt be a bad thing

A 1X Leupold? What's the advantages of that over a much smaller and lighter red dot (closed or open emitter)?

That would be a good candidate. That one have the square fore end too. I took about a cord of wood off this one.

Yup, that square sorta laminated stock they had back then. Somebody removed the ventilated rib at some point.