What's new

Range 570 rebuild

Tmackcj5

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
TX
So I'm new to SxS's but picked up a fixer upper 2015 Ranger 570 crew. This was a craiglist special that a friend found for me. I was heading out of town when he found it, so I haven't even seen it in person. It was cheap enough that i bought it sight unseen :homer:.

The story was that the guy bought the Ranger as part of an equipment lot at auction. It ran but had no power. The guy scoped the cylinder and said it was all scored up. He decided it was more of a project than he wanted so onto Craiglist it went.

It sounds like it will need a new top end (jug and piston). Some quick searches online turn up top end kits for cheap. Anyone see issues going with a kit like this vs going to Polaris. KIT.

It is missing the front hood, facia, and headlights. Any recommendations on parts sources? I'm sure it will need more once I get to look it over.

Pic

Attachments

• 121FDE85-51F4-475A-907D-83E84C498E4C.jpeg
    121FDE85-51F4-475A-907D-83E84C498E4C.jpeg
    177.3 KB · Views: 27
I don't see a problem with it.
If you had time you might be able to have it re-plated and save a little but a complete kit would be nice.

Well, got it home and tore it apart last night. Looks like I’m in for a full rebuild. Found metal shavings/scoring on cam journals, broken piston, and the rod flips around on the crank like a limp dick.

F2CF4187-0178-4941-BF72-6E082197A13B.jpeg
FFBC3108-9893-4B61-961B-0A601722F688.jpeg
0A2D546F-6E00-4202-8D39-DAD69A9AF23C.jpeg

I'm going to look around at reman vs used vs full rebuild (myself).

Anyone ever heard of/used REV6 for engine rebuilds or parts? REV6 link

He said no issues with his.

The oddity he did incur is that the cylinder had "a crack" that could be welded, they docked him a few $$$ off the core charge.
I asked if he knew it was his engine or not in the pictures and he did not know but assumed they wouldn't fake the issue.

He ran his out of oil.