What's new

Program 2002 superduty vsm

Pt_Ranger_v8

A dministrator
Joined
May 19, 2020
Member Number
406
Messages
785
Loc
flyover land
Anyone have any experience with this?

Replaced my vehicle security module/body security module with the module from an 05. Same part number, different revision.

The biggest difference is the door switch polarity.

All my research points to requiring a hard wipe (initialize) and reprogram off the as-built file.

Took it to the dealer, and the were able to clone the 02 module onto the 05 module, so it's configured correctly (4 doors, etc) but it reads the state of the doors backwards.

Dealer is unable to initialize and reprogram the module, because their software is too new, and the car isn't in the internal database.

I figure I'll either find someone with an older copy of the software, or torrent a copy for myself.

Anyone have suggestions that don't involve me downloading viruses from the internet?
 

Pt_Ranger_v8

A dministrator
Joined
May 19, 2020
Member Number
406
Messages
785
Loc
flyover land
That's a damn good idea if I can't get anywhere else.:smokin:

I was really hoping to not have to add shit to fix ford's retardation :homer:
 

Chkn

What Knockers
Joined
May 19, 2020
Member Number
145
Messages
200
Loc
JAX
Dealer should be be able to contact tech line for the updated as built to fix the problem...
 

Pt_Ranger_v8

A dministrator
Joined
May 19, 2020
Member Number
406
Messages
785
Loc
flyover land
Dealer should be be able to contact tech line for the updated as built to fix the problem...


Dealer is either unable or unwilling. to quote them "We can't even wipe the programming on the personality side" :rolleyes:

The module works - I can see the door state change on my Forscan. It's just backwards. :mr-t:
 

TrikeKid

Junk Hoarder
Joined
May 19, 2020
Member Number
246
Messages
1,339
Loc
Auburn, WA
Find an independent shop that still has an IDS and wants to do their job. The reading the doors backward shit means it's not programmed properly.
 

Takotruckin

Well-known member
Joined
May 29, 2020
Member Number
1646
Messages
90
I’ve had this happen before. The VSM needs to be disconnected until the IDS indicates to install the new module, it will require As Built Data from Fords website. It’s not a big deal to do but it does require a tech willing to do things “not the right way”.
 
Top