What's new

Primers

Pony_Driver

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Does anyone have them in stock yet? I haven't looked since before the WuFlu and they were unobtanium then. Has the supply chain ever caught up?

Because im a dumb newb mother fucker.

Are all .223/5.56 "small rifle primers"the same fit?
Srp are srp are srp?
Not brand or i stand by xxx.
They all fit the case and have enough charge or are there different "power" or depth or bore?

Because im a dumb newb mother fucker.

Are all .223/5.56 "small rifle primers"the same fit?
Srp are srp are srp?
Not brand or i stand by xxx.
They all fit the case and have enough charge or are there different "power" or depth or bore?
Yes, all the same. But... if the primers are crimped in (milsurp, usually) you should expect to ream the primer pocket for a less than aggravating reloading experience. Small pistol and small rifle are the same, dimensionally. There are magnum primers, supposedly more robust ignition. I can't tell any difference. The long range/benchrest guys might, though. I buy whatever is on the shelf, as long as the brand is known (CCI, Wnchester, Federal).
Large rifle and large pistol are different dimensionally.

also, small pistol and small rifle primers are ”enough” the same you can use them interchangeably.

Oh and primers used in semi or full auto tend to have a harder cup to help prevent slam fires, CCI 41s and Federal Match AR are examples.

I have done this because of the shortage. They will work but you need to test and adjust your loads. Don’t just swap them out 1 for 1.
I’ve tested them. Really not much difference in MY guns. I also don’t load to max velocities or powder limits which might be a bigger impact than rifle/pistol primer differences.

Oh and primers used in semi or full auto tend to have a harder cup to help prevent slam fires, CCI 41s and Federal Match AR are examples.