What's new

Newbie rock crawler build questions

littleboss

Member Number
I have been running RZR's since 2012 and I like rockcrawling. Instead of buying another (probably $35-40k Polaris) I am considering buying a rockcrawler chassis and build my own.

I am mechanically inclined and maintain and repair the three SXSs and farm equipment. I have a nicely equipped farm shop with Mig, Stick, plasma, Jet bandsaw, etc but I have no experience with building my own.

I do have bad elbows so I need something that's easy to steer- probably hydraulic steering and would like maybe 40" tires.

Got any ideas on where I can start? If I bought a chassis or chassis weld it myself kit and pieced the rest out what do you think it would cost? I am not too keen on buying somebody else's rig. Anytime I buy used I get screwed.

Thanks

Buy a know good used rig and learn from buggy ownership for the next 2/3 years. Then build your own.

Building a buggy with no experience of the game is not the way to go IMO.
^^^^^^
THis..
A from scratch buggy will put you in that 35-40K range anyways, a known good used buggy is a better idea, and you figure out what you like and don't like, and what works for you, you may decide building is or is not right for you, but blindly building a buggy off of what you think is best may not work out and could cost you more in the long run.

P.S.
I'm running beat to shit Toyotas So I could be full of shit:lmao::lmao::lmao:

I built my first buggy. Next one was built by someone else. It wasnt mine. That was a big deal for me. idk why. The best advice i can give you is find someone near you who is competent at building them and learn from them. There are millions of questions and issues you will run into, having a quick source of knowledge to bounce ideas off will pay off. IMO the most important parts of a buggy are proper suspension design and driveline function, keep that in mind.