What's new

Newb needs some 7.3ps cold no start help

total newb

senior jerk ass
Member Number
Loc
trinity center ca
So i am a drivetrain guy not a motor guy and know very little about powerstrokes in general, but i can search and read some other threads which has brought me to this point.

The problem,

When cold, been sitting for a few hours it will crank but not start. Regaurdless of ambient temp. 20-105*.
You can crank till she quits but wont fire. As much as i/you hate to do it, a lil huff of no no juice will fire it up.

In the last 2 years the full glow plug system was replaced, controler, harness/gaskets, relay and all 8 plugs.

Recent oil change.

1999/dec
300k miles and afaik no significant repairs or mods. Oe/stock on all other components.

Read a few threads here running down a few basics.

Icp "at least 500"
480+ while idle
20210819_205835.jpg

I thought maybe the lift pump but watched a few vids and checked a couple things and all seems good on the surface. Relay and fuses are good. Pump runs with power supplied.

However it seems like it may be weak but i may not be reading things right
20210819_205802.jpg

I did pick up a icp, fuel filter, crank sensor along with a airfilter but did not have time to install.

Read again later today to unplug icp and crank but did not have time to try it

What's your ICP while cranking when it won't start? The 500psi is to fire the injectors on start up, not after the truck is running. It's possible it's not building enough just spinning on the starter till you feed it the Cosby sauce.

check that upper hpo reservoir. It can drain back, or undersupply - various reasons.

ipr needs to be working

beware of a weak/tired hpop or lpop

you can press up the rails manually with a porta-power pump for a leakdown test.

Agreed. I’d check ICP pressure to see if the hpop is weak

If it's only when it's cooler, it's gonna end up being glow plugs.