What's new

Interpret tire wear?

fl0w3n

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Loc
NorCal
I’m a newb at understanding tire wear and correcting the issue. Would prefer to not just ignorantly blow through these.

tires have 12k miles on them, rotated at 10k. Running same psi front and rear - 37ish

Judging by the fronts, I’m guessing this is an alignment and maybe balancing issue? Rears look like they’re doing well.

what should I do to correct this wear?

This was the front (now on the rear)
DA5F3C57-3547-4F62-9888-32D86C222002.jpeg

Other front (now rear)
BD8963B1-9E84-4954-A9CE-B17263B8A052.jpeg

For comparison here’s same wear from what was the rear for 10k miles
9D680EFE-4308-4CC3-9E38-9AC52532C5AF.jpeg

Other side of what was the rear
76B721BC-3813-4771-A8FC-511A9716143D.jpeg

They appear in the pictures to be wearing evenly on the outer edges. You might not have enough air pressure in them. More pressure evens out the load, less pressure causes the weight to be on the outer edges or above the sidewalls.

What brand and load range are the tires on how heavy of a truck?

You also should rotate them every few thousand miles. Aggressive tread tires need rotating way more than every 10,000 miles.

Tire chalking can help you determine if you're running the correct pressure for your ties:

And as BDK stated, you should be rotating your tires more often.

What year/make/model are these on? What size and load rating?

First problem as others have stated it 10k is way too long between rotations for that aggressive of tread. Especially if you live in the mountains of California with lots of elevation change and corners.

Tires are Falken Wildpeak RT in 37x12.5r17 with an E load rating and 128R

Truck is a ‘21 250 that scales at 7,900-8,000 lbs with me in it, approximately 4680 front 3220 rear

Tires are inflated to 35 PSI cold, and heat up to around 40 PSI usually which should give me around a 11-12,000 lb capacity for the random times I do hookup a trailer.