What's new

Helium and CO2 shortage issues

I've been having a bitch of a time getting it from all my local suppliers. Strict rationing. They'll only give me a bottle at a time for $$$$

I tig weld a lot of thick aluminum. Seems like my only option is to spring for a Dynasty 800 now.

Is this truely a shortage or another lets make money by driving the price up by speculators?

I’ve been hearing for 20 years there’s only a finite amount of helium in the world and not tons of it. I haven’t read the articles, but I understand Russia produces most of it.

“The two most important sources of helium in the United States are the Hugoton-Panhandle field complex, which is located in Texas, Oklahoma, and Kansas, and ExxonMobil's LaBarge field, which is located in the Riley Ridge area of southwestern Wyoming.”

The supply really hasn’t changed since the mid 80s when these fields were first drilled.
The demand has.

Very few gas field in the world have have commercial quantities of helium and those that do have large quantities of H2S to go along with that helium.
It takes a major producer with a major investment to get into helium extraction from well head gas.

I recall the helium thing started back in about 2011 or 2012. Restaurant I worked for at the time did helium tanks regularly to fill balloons. Round then west air stopped swapping our tanks out and we just weren’t able to get the stuff anymore as they had earmarked whatever they were getting for priority customers in the medical field with MRI machines and the like. For a while we would go to party city and purchase their shit small tanks but even they started having issues getting them. So we just killed the balloons all together.

“The two most important sources of helium in the United States are the Hugoton-Panhandle field complex, which is located in Texas, Oklahoma, and Kansas, and ExxonMobil's LaBarge field, which is located in the Riley Ridge area of southwestern Wyoming.”