What's new

Hardbody SAS, Just like Momma used to do it

dentedsub

Haberdasher
Member Number
Loc
Close but no cigar
I know there are a bunch of D21 SAS's ou there but I don't remember any on the old thread and I guess it will be the first here. This is my first build thread and will probably be used as much for questions as sharing my experience.
So here's the plan:
1990 Nissan Hardbody D21, 4wd, 2.4L 4 banger, 5 speed manual. Kinda ugly.
Picture1110211340_1.jpg

'84 Wagoneer Dana 44, nothing special there.
5.13s, spartan locker
4" YJ springs from Zone (hopefully not too tall, want to keep it low)
Trail gear front hangars and LII rear sliders instead of shackles
H233B rear with 5.13s and lockrite
Planning on 33s
This is the one I did the trans for here fs5w71 2wd to 4wd conversion
There will be more obviously but I just want to get the axle under it first. This is my first time setting up gears so hopefully I don't screw anything up.

DSCN9764[1].JPG

I almost have the axle disassembled and ready to install the gears and everything else.
DSCN9765[1].JPG

I don't have much of a plan. I'm hoping to keep it near stock height. Its why I got a 4 cyl. They have a rear sump oil pan and I'm hoping The axle will stuff identical to where the current diff is. I can't get any good measurements until I start cutting.

I didn't get much progress done this weekend, just new ball joints installed and locker put in the housing. One of my kids fell off a ladder Friday night and we ended up calling an ambulance just to be safe. Luckily she's just bruised and sore.

We just did a first gen X with slider boxes and I'm very impressed. They worked way better than I expected them too. Pretty sure he used the same ones you have.

v8GRC0IV0TCmwWpkzGA2-RiSW=w1250-h937-no?authuser=0.jpg