What's new

G80 4.10 locating Rear Diff Parts 05 Silverado

Leadfoot21

Red Skull Member
Member Number
Let me start off by saying I’ve been reading on here daily since the beginning and never posted or joined . I am a mechanic for a living but am not a rear differential pro and don’t claim to be . My personal truck is an 05 crew cab Silverado 1500 . It has factory 4.10s and the factory G80 locker . I’m having a heck of a time finding parts or a used diff . Local go to salvage guy told me there was one available in Oklahoma and they wouldn’t budge from 1300 . New ones are available from the aftermarket for 15-1700. I’m interested in just rebuilding it myself but it damaged the carrier and pinion gear is fubared as is ring gear . I want to order parts but information seems pretty limited on this rear end . I’m still not sure which rear end this is ? 9.5 is what I was assuming . Parts are all discontinued from Chevrolet so I was thinking about going with an aftermarket locker . What rear diff do I have this being a 1/2 ton and what and where should I order ? I know there’s some very knowledgeable people here and I’m not afraid to admit I’m having a little trouble here .

To determine what axle you have, count the cover bolts. 10 is an 8.6” 10 bolt, 14 is the 9.5” semi floating 14 bolt.

Then if you want, order up a new center section and set of gears from an aftermarket vendor. Now would be the perfect time to upgrade to a limited slip or locker, depending on your uses. You could also talk to a driveline shop, as most I’ve used have some used center sections on the shelf or are willing to rebuild the axle in your truck with new components.

Its a fucking 8.6 10. If you find one used youll pay through the nose for it.

Any junk yard take out will more than likely be just that. Junk.

Throw that g80 in the fucking garbage and buy a trutrac, clutch posi or even just an open.