What's new

Drywall for the ceiling of a 25'x25'?

61scout80

Anchored. Finally.
Member Number
Loc
Crestwood, KY
I have very little experience in drywalling and I'm looking for suggestions for the lid of my shop that's about 25' x 25'. I'm not sure what size sheets are going to be the easiest for a newb. I will have a panel hoist, so I can't think of many disadvantages to longer sheets.

My local Menard's stocks 1/2" in 4x8, 4x10, & 4x12. I was thinking the 4x12 would give me a few less joints to finish, but is there a downside?

bJGustJvYdXp01fg_JfsJtno=w1346-h1009-no?authuser=0.jpg

why are you sheeting it?
Do you need to?

there is storage up there you will be blocking, little work areas need all the help they can get

White roofing tin then drywall as the next option. Drywall is only for interior spaces in my opinion. Its too fragile for a garage/3 season room.

It's a shop. Why even do anything other than exposed joists?

It's a shop. Why even do anything other than exposed joists?

I probably should have clarified the why in that first post. My house has an oversized 2 car attached and this detached garage. It also has a basement apartment / in-law suite.

My wife and I plan to move back to the west in the next few years. This area has become the go-to for people with money who want land in a nicer area. Especially those who lived in the urban areas of Louisville and are trickling into the suburban/rural areas. Those people are generally happy with an attached garage and not much else.

When we're ready to sell this place I think this detached garage will bring money if it's finished out nicely. I want buyers to see the shop as a multi-use space instead of simply a building to store the minivan and clutter. I think buyers will be able to see a shop, "man cave", art/podcast/vlog studio, homeschool classroom, teen space, or other multiuse bonus space without giving up indoor parking and storage.