What's new

88 Samurai. What are my carb/efi options?

DMG

Red Skull Member
Member Number
I was given a beater samurai a while back that needed a clutch and some other stuff. The friend that gave it to me started to put a clutch in it in his sisters barn and a bolt broke so he gave up. Now the clutch is in and it runs and drives. My prior Sami’s had carb issues off-road. What are my options? Cheap and easy, hopefully as this is just going to be used in the woods around my house and for going to the lake in summer. It won’t be registered but will get the orange triangle on the back.

I swear by the 3K for the price. I buy the Amazon ones and cobble together the swap kit because I'm cheap.
The only time I have trouble with my 3K is when I try to pretend I'm an Ultra 4 driver through the woods. For some reason after hitting bumps at speed it won't idle right.

Certified Machine's kit is great, I've installed it on customer rides that I didn't think should be cobbled, worked like a charm.
I've also ordered the "5K" and "Toy250" carb and there is no difference in the aftermarket stuff.

Reactions: DMG
+1 for 3k. After driving one with it, I was sold, I put one on mine and it's way better. It's not like a huge jump in total power but a small bump in low end and large increase in mid range.

Also, it's cheap, is a cake install (taking the old junk off took the majority of the time) and cleans up the intake a LOT.

We need every 1/4hp we can get :laughing:

Thanks guys. I will look into the 3k.
20211230_170509.jpg

What did you guys do for the fuel inlet on the 3k?

Came here to say this. SamuraiKodish runs one in his and it’s a sweet setup, I’ve seen it run completely on its side a number of times.
yawp. It was simple to rig up too. Rig never ran so good.

What did you guys do for the fuel inlet on the 3k?
It’s a really fine thread, something like 12mmx1.0. I found a 1/4” steel line with the correct thread tube nut.

Oh, fuel. That reminded me.