What's new

1st Gen Rav4 wtf's

Poopyface

Member Number
20220420_103547.jpg

96 Rav4 Auto AWD

Needed a rig after trading the 4runner in for a new vehicle for the lady so I bought this off a co worker for $1k. It's from Colorado so no rust which is why I bought it. It has 240k miles on it and runs pretty good except for some issues that maybe you guys can help me with. I have no experience with the engine/trans or these rav4's. No money light, fresh tuneup, and all fresh fluids. Battery is kind old and weak. PO and PO's PO ran it for whoknowshowlong with a thermostat that was stuck open. He said it needed a heater core cuz no heat and his mechanic couldnt figure out why it ran cold. It also wouldn't shift into 4th. I stuck a new thermostat in it and all that fixed itself. A $4 cure for all.

issues

1. Surges every two seconds when accelerating at a consistent speed up hills. The surge is enough to turn you into a slow motion bobble head. Does this every time.

2. Brake surges when coasting down hill. Feels like tapping the brake lightly every two seconds. Stops doing this when you get back on the gas. Again, slow motion bobble head and does it every time.

3. Will not accelerate from a stop if you gas it moderate/hard. It feels like it slips out of gear and just revs up. It will do just fine if you accelerate at the speed of a turtle. You can floor it once you are driving and it shift normally. It only does this at a stop and literally always does it on a hill stop. I have to go 0-60 in 7 minutes to accelerate normally on a hill. Annoying.

4. Rough idle when parking after a drive. RPMS lower a bit, idles rough, rpms return to normal (all this in like 5 seconds) and idle smoothes out but still feels like a lawn mower.

I haven't had much time to work on it last few months but have some free time coming up. Any suggestions would help point me where to look.

And yeah, nice to be back.

Last edited: